Review: Falling Sky (Ben Gold #1) by Rajan Khanna

Falling Sky Ben Gold Rajan KhannaFalling Sky (Ben Gold #1) by Rajan Khanna

Publication Date: October 7th 2014 (first published January 1st 2014)
Details: Paperback, 255 pages
Publisher: Pyr
Source: I bought it.

Rajan Khanna:
Website | Twitter | Goodreads

Buy Falling Sky:
Amazon | Book Depository

Summary

Ben Gold lives in dangerous times. Two generations ago, a virulent disease turned the population of most of North America into little more than beasts called Ferals. Some of those who survived took to the air, scratching out a living on airships and dirigibles soaring over the dangerous ground.
Ben, a lone wolf, has reluctantly agreed to use his skills and his airship to help an idealist scientist, Miranda, on her search for a cure. Protecting her from Ferals is dangerous enough but when power-mad raiders run rampant, Ben finds himself in the most dangerous place of all—the ground.
Ben’s journey leads him to Gastown, a city in the air recently conquered by belligerent and expansionist pirates. Old friends and new enemies are drawn into a struggle that quickly becomes a fight for the fate of the world. Ben must decide to focus on his own survival or risk it all on a desperate chance for a better future.

Review

After I found out I won a copy of the third book in this trilogy I made an order for the first two. I don’t normally enter giveaways for the last book in a series when I don’t own any other books in it, but this trilogy just sounded so good that I knew I would get to it at some point. Between what the series is about and the fact that there is a blurb on the first book by Tad Williams that says “Like Hemingway meets The Walking Dead.”, I knew I would enjoy these books. So far, I am right.

I flew through this book. I just couldn’t put it down. I love all the characters. Well, most of the characters. I mean I’m not sure how I feel about Clay. Ben is amazing and I think I might be in love with Miranda. Everyone else is just as great. There is so much action, which I love. Plus Ferals! If you know me, then you know I love anything to do with zombies. I just can’t get enough of them.

Overall I thoroughly enjoyed it, and as soon as I’m done writing this review, I’m jumping into the next book, Rising Tide. I need more of this world and these characters. Please pick this book up and give it a read. It was so much fun.

5 out of 5 stars

One thought on “Review: Falling Sky (Ben Gold #1) by Rajan Khanna

Leave a Reply

