Review: Ten Dead Comedians: A Murder Mystery by Fred Van Lente

Ten Dead Comedians A Murder Mystery Fred Van LenteTen Dead Comedians: A Murder Mystery by Fred Van Lente

Publication Date: July 11th 2017
Details: Hardcover, 288 pages
Publisher: Quirk Books
Source: Won a copy from Goodreads

Fred Van Lente:
Website | Twitter | Goodreads

Buy Ten Dead Comedians:
Amazon | Book Depository

Summary

Fred Van Lente’s brilliant debut is both an homage to the Golden Age of Mystery and a thoroughly contemporary show-business satire. As the story opens, nine comedians of various acclaim are summoned to the island retreat of legendary Hollywood funnyman Dustin Walker. The group includes a former late-night TV host, a washed-up improv instructor, a ridiculously wealthy “blue collar” comic, and a past-her-prime Vegas icon. All nine arrive via boat to find that every building on the island is completely deserted. Marooned without cell phone service or wifi signals, they soon find themselves being murdered one by one. But who is doing the killing, and why?

A darkly clever take on Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None and other classics of the genre, Ten Dead Comedians is a marvel of literary ventriloquism, with hilarious comic monologues in the voice of every suspect. It’s also an ingeniously plotted puzzler with a twist you’ll never see coming!

Review

I won a copy of this book from Goodreads and was so excited. It sounded like it would be such a fun read. Man was I wrong.

I honestly thought I would enjoy this book but unfortunately it just wasn’t for me. I didn’t really find it funny, I didn’t like any of the characters, and I found it to be predictable. Half way through the book I figured out who the killer was and how they were doing it.

It seems like this is a love it or hate it kind of book. I didn’t hate it, but I didn’t like it. I thought it was just okay. However, other people have given it four or five stars. This isn’t a book I would recommend, but if it sounds good to you, I wouldn’t say don’t read it. You might be one of those people who enjoyed it. The writing was good, so I would like to give this author another chance.

2 out of 5 stars

One thought on “Review: Ten Dead Comedians: A Murder Mystery by Fred Van Lente

Leave a Reply

