Review: Timeline by Michael Crichton

timeline-michael-crichtonTimeline by Michael Crichton

Publication Date: June 23rd 2009 (first published November 16th 1999)
Details: Mass Market Paperback, 491 pages
Publisher: Ballantine Books
ISBN: 9780345517814
Source: I bought it.

Buy Timeline:
Amazon | Book Depository

Summary

In an Arizona desert a man wanders in a daze, speaking words that make no sense. Within twenty-four hours he is dead, his body swiftly cremated by his only known associates. Halfway around the world archaeologists make a shocking discovery at a medieval site. Suddenly they are swept off to the headquarters of a secretive multinational corporation that has developed an astounding technology. Now this group is about to get a chance not to study the past but to enter it. And with history opened to the present, the dead awakened to the living, these men and women will soon find themselves fighting for their very survival–six hundred years ago . . .

Review

For most of my life I’ve wanted to be an archaeologist. Even though that never happened, I haven’t stopped loving history, it is something I’ve loved for as long as I can remember. So when I came across the movie Timeline before I really got into reading, I became slightly obsessed. Is it a good movie? Not really, but for some reason I loved it. When I finally got into reading and found out that the movie was based on a book, I just knew I had to get my hands on it.

It took me awhile to get a copy, but now that I’ve finally read this book I’m a bit disappointed. However, I do feel like a lot of that is my fault. I was super excited to read Timeline, I had high expectations, and I’ve seen the movie too many times to count. I bet if I went into this before watching the movie and not really knowing what to expect, I would have really enjoyed it.

My only real complaint is about Chris. I couldn’t stand him. He was the worst. He is the only problem I could find with the book. Other than him, it is a fun, fast-paced read that I didn’t want to put down.

This was the first book by Crichton that I’ve read, but it wont be the last. I look forward to reading more.

3 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

