Review: Out of the Storm by Carol Ashe

out-of-the-storm-carol-asheOut of the Storm by Carol Ashe

Publication Date: February 17th 2016
Details: Paperback, 240 pages
Publisher: FriesenPress
ISBN: 9781460276624
Source: I won a copy from Goodreads🙂

Carol Ashe:
Website | Twitter | Goodreads

Buy Out of the Storm:
Amazon | Book Depository

Summary

Detective Isabelle Carte is in love-with her job. It’s all she needs and all she has time for. A dedicated and capable detective, she knows how to get the job done, regardless of the risk. Or so she thinks. When a stalker becomes obsessed with Isabelle and murders women to get her attention, her confidence is shaken. Isa takes refuge at her family’s lake cabin in rugged Northwestern Ontario. Little does she know how much her life is about to change. Alec Reed is at the lake to rebuild his family’s cabin and to make peace with a family tragedy that had happened years before. He’s on track-finishing up with the remodel, and ready to return to his flourishing business in Calgary-until a pesky female shows up with her lovable dog at the cabin on the other side of the lake. She manages to capsize her canoe, blame him for ungentlemanly behaviour, and then throws everything off kilter. Falling in love with a cop was not on his agenda, especially a cop who can’t seem to stay out of trouble. When Isa goes missing, Alec realizes there is only one thing he can do: find her. But in doing so, they have to face their feelings for each other. Can they overcome their differences?

Review

I won a copy of Out of the Storm from Goodreads.

I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect going into this book. I was hoping I would love it, but in the end I just didn’t. It started off fine. I found it interesting and I was enjoying it. I loved the fact the main character Isabelle was strong and independent. I was hooked from the beginning.

Unfortunately the more I read, the more disappointed I got. I know it’s a romance, and it’s not very long, but they fell in love so fast. As the story goes on, our strong, independent character basically becomes a teenage girl who can’t think about anything but this guy she is completely in love with even though they just met. She is being stalked and people are dying, yet all she can think about is Alec. She keeps needing to be rescued and even consider’s doing something dumb because she fell in love with a guy she barely knows.

Again, I know it’s a romance, and I do believe that even the strongest people need to be rescued every once and awhile, but come on.

Overall, I didn’t love this book. It was an okay read for me. It frustrated me a lot. I was going to give it one star, but I did enjoy the beginning and I feel like if Carol Ashe wrote something else I could enjoy it. So I’ve bumped it up to two stars.

2 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

