Review: Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

thirteen-reasons-why-jay-asherThirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Publication Date: June 14th 2011 (first published October 18th 2007)
Details: Paperback, 288 pages
Publisher: Razorbill
ISBN: 9781595141880
Source: Bought it.

Jay Asher: Website | Twitter | Goodreads

Buy Thirteen Reasons Why: Amazon | Book Depository

Summary

You can’t stop the future. You can’t rewind the past. The only way to learn the secret. . . is to press play.

Clay Jensen doesn’t want anything to do with the tapes Hannah Baker made. Hannah is dead. Her secrets should be buried with her.

Then Hannah’s voice tells Clay that his name is on her tapes– and that he is, in some way, responsible for her death.

All through the night, Clay keeps listening. He follows Hannah’s recorded words throughout his small town. . .

. . .and what he discovers changes his life forever.

Review

I have been wanting to read Thirteen Reasons Why for so long. I think I added it to my wish list before it even came out. I have no idea why it has taken me so long to pick it up. It might be the fact that even though I enjoy Young Adult contemporary, it is probably my least favorite genre. Perhaps it’s just a case of so many books, so little time. All I do know is that I am glad that I found it at Goodwill and decided to finally pick it up.

Going into it I didn’t know what to expect. I knew what it was about and it sounded like something I might like, but I don’t think I expected to get enjoy it as much as I did. I was completely sucked in and I didn’t want to put it down. I’m not sure why I was surprised but I was. This was such a great read.

Even though I didn’t cry while reading this, my emotions were all over the place. There were times I was smiling and laughing. There were times that I felt sad and even angry. I just wanted to hop into the book, go back in time, and be friends with Hannah. I had a hard time with bully and rumors when I was in school. I was incredibly depressed and while I was reading this book I felt like Hannah and I would have really gotten along. Maybe if we were friends we both would have made it through high school (I was kicked out because of the rumors and just couldn’t bring myself to go to another school in a different town).

I do understand why a lot of people don’t like this book. Some people think that it’s dangerous and glamorize suicide. Or they think that Jay Asher just doesn’t understand depression and Hannahs reasons were dumb. Like I said before, I dealt with both bullying and horrible rumors, and if you have to get pushed around all day at school, if you have to deal with people calling you names, acting weird around you, laughing at you, staring at you and whispering, you end up feeling completely worthless. Every comment, every rumor, every look, they all add up. They just keep piling up on you until you are buried and you feel like suicide is your only option. You don’t want to deal with the whispers, looks and shoves. You just want to escape. You want out. Hannah probably already had depression, and every comment, rumor, whisper, stare, all of it, added up. I’m not saying that what other people said is wrong, they just had a different experience. Maybe they are stronger and what people say and do doesn’t hurt them as much. I can admit that I am sensitive, you combine that with my anxiety and depression and you are left with someone who could understand where Hannah was coming from. If you didn’t that’s fine. We don’t all have to agree. I just hope that if you heard or read negative reviews that you still give this book a chance. Give it a read for yourself. You might hate it, or you might love it.

This book was so great and I’m glad that I now own it and have read it. I can’t wait to pick up more by Jay Asher in the future.

4 out of 5 stars

One thought on “Review: Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

Leave a Reply

