Review: Gameboard of the Gods by Richelle Mead

gameboard-of-the-gods-age-of-x-richelle-meadGameboard of the Gods (Age of X #1) by Richelle Mead

Publication Date: June 3rd 2014 (first published June 4th 2013)
Details: Mass Market Paperback, 461 pages
Publisher: Signet
ISBN: 9780451467997
Source: Library

Richelle Mead:
Website | Twitter | Goodreads | Facebook

Buy Gameboard of the Gods:
Amazon | Book Depository

Summary

The truth is, when you banish the gods from the world, they eventually come back—with a vengeance.

In the near future, Justin March lives in exile from the Republic of United North America. After failing in his job as an investigator of religious groups and supernatural claims, Justin is surprised when he is sent back with a peculiar assignment—to solve a string of ritualistic murders steeped in seemingly unexplainable phenomena.

Justin’s return comes with an even bigger shock: His new partner and bodyguard, Mae Koskinen, is a prætorian, one of the Republic’s technologically enhanced supersoldiers. Mae’s inexplicable beauty and aristocratic upbringing attract Justin’s curiosity and desire, but her true nature holds more danger than anyone realizes.

As their investigation unfolds, Justin and Mae find themselves in the crosshairs of mysterious enemies. Powers greater than they can imagine have started to assemble in the shadows, preparing to reclaim a world that has renounced religion and where humans are merely gamepieces on their board.

Review

I  picked up Vampire Academy when I first got into reading and it became one of my favorites. It has been years since I finished reading that series and when I saw Gameboard of the Gods at the library I decided it was time to read more by Richelle Mead.

I wish I could say that I loved it but I didn’t. Some of that might have been my fault. Normally I could have read this in two or three days, but I started reading it while I was moving and it took me about a week to get through it. If I had been able to read it in less days, I may have given it four stars instead of three I just didn’t have enough time to sit down and totally get into the story.

I was slightly disappointed that it wasn’t that funny. I don’t expect an author to write the same thing over and over again, but one of my favorite things about Vampire Academy was how funny it was. Gameboard of the Gods had some funny moments, but not as many as I was expecting.

Overall, it was an enjoyable read and I would love to continue with the series and read the next book, The Immortal Crown. It’s not high priority, especially since my library doesn’t have it, but I would like to read it soon.

3 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

