Review: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

ill-give-you-the-sun-jandy-nelsonI’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Publication Date: October 27th 2015 (first published September 16th 2014)
Details: Paperback, 375 pages
Publisher: Speak
ISBN: 9780142425763
Source: Library

Jandy Nelson:
Website | Twitter | Goodreads | Facebook

Buy I’ll Give You the Sun:
Amazon | Book Depository

Summary

At first, Jude and her twin brother are NoahandJude; inseparable. Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude wears red-red lipstick, cliff-dives, and does all the talking for both of them.

Years later, they are barely speaking. Something has happened to change the twins in different yet equally devastating ways . . . but then Jude meets an intriguing, irresistible boy and a mysterious new mentor.

The early years are Noah’s to tell; the later years are Jude’s. But they each have only half the story, and if they can only find their way back to one another, they’ll have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant, award-winning novel from the acclaimed author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

Review

This is a hard one for me to write a review for. Even though I liked reading I’ll Give You the Sun. I had a hard time getting through it. I should have been able to read it in a couple of days but it took me over a week. I have no idea why it took so long.

The writing was great, I could in some small way relate to both Jude and Noah, and I really enjoyed the story. Something just made me not want to pick it up and read it. When I did, I didn’t want to put it down. It was just picking it back up that I had a hard time with. I’m not even sure what is holding me back from giving this book four stars. Like I said, I really enjoyed it.

I honestly don’t know what to say about this book. Maybe it’s the genre, which isn’t one of my favorites. Who knows why I struggled with it. What I do know is that I liked it enough that I want to own my own copy and I would like to read more by Jandy Nelson.

3 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

